Gym Beast Hates Me and a Favorite Salad: An Update on Progress

Shirt available at TapRackBangNet on etsy.com

Shirt available at TapRackBangNet on etsy.com

Looking at my workout and nutrition guidelines from Gym Beast, it really doesn’t look that bad. Unfortunately, looking and doing are two completely different animals.

In order to be fully honest with you and myself, I’m posting Gym Beat’s routine for me (with a bit of my own spin). You’ll notice it’s open to a good bit of options to push myself and keep my workouts “interesting”; I’m also adding pilates on my rest days and throwing core into my routine.

Gym Beast's Workout

Gym Beast’s Workout

On top of The Beast’s Workout, she’s also given me a nutrition goal of 100-150 grams of protein and 150-200 grams of carbohydrates: a bit like a marathoner’s training nutrition.

For those of you who don’t know me, I eat like crap.  I’m a Nutritionist’s nightmare.  Not because I eat fried, greasy, sugar-laden foods, but because I eat a bit like a bird.  On top of being gluten intolerant, I lack the “appropriate” level of hunger that a normal human adult female should have.  I’m the one, maybe two, meal a day kind of person.

This is not because I think I’m fat, nor because I have a body image issue: It’s merely that I don’t eat when I’m not hungry.  I also happen to work an 8-5 job with a 45-minute to 1-hour drive each way tossed in, add that to my gym time and you pretty much have a person that lacks the desire to cook at 7pm.  Yes, I realize this means I need to meal plan and create things on the weekend.  However, along with being a piss-poor eater, I’m also a piss-poor forward planner.

This is all going to change… at least where my food intake is concerned.  The poor forward planning is what it is and I’m trying to teach myself to be better.  The food is a requirement to sustain the level of activity I’m attempting to achieve and is therefore, non-negotiable (how do you like them apples!?)

Speaking of apples, and food, I made a pretty damn fine salad the other day.

Roomie and I were walking through Wegmans (think: grocery store with ambiance) grabbing food to support this new diet I am on and I picked up a pack of smoked turkey legs (that’d be two legs for those of you unaware that turkey’s only have two).  Four ounces of smoked turkey is equal to 40 grams of protein.  I spent about an hour skinning and cutting the meat from the legs into rough cut pieces which turned into six baggies (four-ounces each).

While at Wegmans, we also picked up cheese curds, dried cranberries and a huge Spinach and Mixed Greens salad mix with Spinach, Tango, Lolla Rosa, Red and Green Romaine, Red and Green Oak, Red and Green Chard, Mizuna, Radicchio, Frisse, Beet Greens, Arugula, Tatsoi, Red Mustard, Kale, Collard, Red Leaf (these somewhat vary).

Needless to say, it didn’t take much in the way of ingenuity to put the salad together, although I will give myself props on cutting up the Rise & Shine Energy Bars I made for the previous Saturday’s hike and using them as a crouton replacement.

It looked a little something like this:

T's Smoked Turkey Salad

T’s Smoked Turkey Salad

To Make:

1. A handful of mixed greens

2. Dice a bit of apple or pear

3. A handful of dried cranberries

4. Rough cut crouton option*

5. 2-ounces chopped smoked turkey

6. A hit of greek yogurt based dressing (or a berry vinagerette would work great!)

–Mix together and chow down like a champ (*see recipe link above for bars)

To cap this off:  I really feel like I’m progressing in the gym and outdoors over this last week and some change.  Also, proud to say I’ve been pretty good (I most definitely chowed down on some GF Tostitos chips and salsa the other day) where food is concerned and building my way to meet my nutrition goals.  I’m adding protein shakes to my diet and finding complex carbs where I can – just like other gluten free folks, it’s a matter of hunting them down and getting them in.

Maybe I’ll check in next week if I don’t cry like a little girl after this week’s workout…

2 comments

Leave a Reply

