Great Falls Hike (Mud, Heights, Weird Animal Likenesses in the Trees, and More!)

From the first overlook at Great Falls Park

From the first overlook at Great Falls Park

Finally!  After nine years -gag me with a spoon: cannot believe I’ve been in VA that long- I made it out to Great Falls Park for a hike/scramble/walk.  I’ve had people telling me it was beautiful, awesome, magnificent, etc.  I’m so glad they weren’t full of crap!

I won’t make this a long post since the photos pretty much speak for themselves, but I will add the following:

1. The Greekanese accompanied me on this particular journey.

2. I wholeheartedly believe in arriving to a hiking destination before 10:30am because all the “day walkers” and “families” tend to arrive around 11am or mid-afternoon.  I like avoiding them.

3. We did just shy of 8 miles today.  Part of that may or may not have been contributed to my, “Oh, look!” or “Stop!  Turn here!” or “Left/Right!”.  These are sometimes referred to as my “squirreliness” or “shiney” moments.

4. We technically did two parks, though only .25miles of River Bend Park (just past the dam)

5. It was muddy as all get out!  Honestly had a few moments in which I skated on mud and thought, “Ah hell, I’m going to land on my ass and The Greekanese is going to exploit that opportunity with candid photographs”.  I’m glad to say, that moment didn’t happen – though not for a lack of Mother Nature trying.

6. I will never underestimate the power of having zip off pants again.

7. I think I’m finally beginning to get a hang of my new camera – hallelujah!

Enjoy the photos and let me know what you think – I’ve sorted them by object below:

Us!:

DSCN0493

DSCN0430

DSCN0431

DSCN0345

???????????????????????????????

DSCN0296

DSCN0299

Trees and Water:

DSCN0521

DSCN0436 DSCN0516

DSCN0509

DSCN0503

DSCN0488 DSCN0485

DSCN0426

DSCN0411

DSCN0385

DSCN0403

DSCN0409

DSCN0315

DSCN0369

DSCN0340

DSCN0309

DSCN0302

DSCN0301

DSCN0270

DSCN0277

Weird Animal-like Trees, Animals, and Locks (River – not pad):

DSCN0466

Mutant Frog/Turtle? Never Ending Story Character? Hmm…

DSCN0450

Turtle!

DSCN0471

DSCN0478

Old (1700's) series of locks for boats

Old (1700’s) series of locks for boats

3 comments

  1. Pingback: A Saturday Hike and a Sunday Scramble with Some Philanthrophy | T's Adventures... Travel Shenanigans, Food and Other Stuff

Leave a Reply

