A Heathen and a Wildlife Refuge

Little girl and turtle

LOVE this face! “Turtle!”

My favorite little Heathen came to visit with her parents this last weekend, thus, making me the happiest Auntie on the face of the planet.  Even more so when all I heard coming from that little munchkin’s mouth was, “Auntie”, “Auntie”, “Auntie!  Come here, Auntie!”

As Heathen gets older, I find her awesomeness expanding.  She’s like the Energizer Bunny with a new battery pack – which just makes her that much more fun on outings.

We decided to let her run off that two-year old energy at the Wildlife Refuge down the road from the house where the Osprey have returned to nest.

Without further ado: My niece, Heathen (and some Osprey)!

Heathen sitting on a railing looking over a pond

Heathen’s “Cheese” Face! Cracks me up.

Heathen at Occoquan Bay National Wildlife Refuge with her Auntie

Heathen giving me a leaf

Heathen telling me about her "popcorn" - one of those prickly tree seeds

Heathen telling me about her “popcorn” – one of those prickly tree seeds

Heathen showing me her nature find

Heathen showing me her nature find

Hand holding with Heathen and Auntie

Holding hands with Auntie

Osprey Pack with water resevoir - little kid learning to drink from a pack

Turning her into a true outdoors girl! Heathen learning to drink from my pack.

Little kid looking at a Spotted Turtle

Hello, Mr. Turtle!

Spotted Turtle in Virginia

A spotted turtle

Little girl and turtle

LOVE this face! “Turtle!”

Little kid saying goodbye to a turtle

Goodbye, Mr. Turtle!

Little kid upside down

Upside down!

Osprey in Flight in Virginia

Osprey in Flight

Osprey Nest and Osprey's in Virginia

Osprey hanging out in their nest

Osprey's Nesting

Osprey nesting

This bird has phenomenal camouflage

This bird has phenomenal camouflage

Wetlands in Virginia

Wetlands

One comment

Leave a Reply

