Causeway Coast, Northern Ireland (on cell phone): Part 1 of Who Knows

image

Oh, Giant’s Causeway, how I adore thee.

But more of my love on it in a bit.

Getting to Bushmills took a six-hour and some change bus ride from Doolin to Galway to Derry – followed by a taxi ride into Bushmills (special shout out to Terry’s Taxis).

I wouldn’t even begin to think of complaining about any of those rides.  I really got to see the insanity in narrow twisty roads with a bus navigating them and the beauty of the country side.

image

image

image

Once I checked into my accommodation, Finn MacCool’s…

image

I was in dire need of food.  Lo and behold people, it’s far easier to carry cash in the ROI and N. Ire than card.

Also, Easter is honest to goodness celebrated from Good Friday (read: closed pubs) through Easter Monday (read: difficult to find food Sunday-Monday).

I racked out hard that night.  Grabbed breakfast downstairs and got great direction from the ladies serving our breakfast to walk the trail that runs along the Heritage Rail Line instead of grabbing the bus into Giant’s Causeway.

Stunning is an underwhelming word for the walk (let alone the whole trail).

image

image

image

Met a nice lady that told me to go around the hotel by the visitors centre (you don’t have to pay to enter the Causeway, no matter how much it looks like you do).

And this is what I was treated to…

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

These are all from my cellphone, so there will be another post when I get home!

3 comments

  1. meticulousmick

    I just love the Giant’s Causeway, Bushmills and the nearby tree arches. A wonderful area. Also recognised an image of Benbulben there in the midst of the photos. Flew past there yesterday while driving my car from Donegal to Cork….🍀

Leave a Reply

