Scotland: Three Days on a Remote Peninsula – Part 2

The beauty of Scotland on a warm, bright spring day was beyond my imagining. How lucky then, that I was able to witness the stunning display Mother Nature provided on the third and final full day in Inverie.

Greyed photo of Knoydart Peninsula, Scotland

One might say I bailed on the second full day of hiking – we were scheduled to hike up Ladhar Bheinn (pr. Larven) – and one might be mostly right.

I wholly expected the aches and pains I felt from the hike up Luinne Bheinn and Meall Buidhe the previous day to leave me feeling like an octogenarian who’d competed in a walker race around the home. Amazingly, I woke up feeling pretty great. That being said, I also knew I’d be walking around Edinburgh in a little over a day’s time. For those of you who don’t know, Edinburgh is hilly!

While the rest of the group, sans George and I, took off for Ladhar Bheinn that morning, I laid in my top bunk reading a bit on the Kindle. Once I roused myself, I got dressed, headed for the common room to log in to a few accounts (read: let the people who actually care about me know that I lived), and had a very interesting conversation with the local teacher. Yes. Local teacher – as in singular.

The sun was shining and the birds were chirping (yes, I realize how sing-song that sounds, but the video doesn’t lie) so I walked my happy self outdoors and the mile or so into Inverie with George, snapped a lot of photos, had a good chat with the man, then stayed for lunch at the Old Forge where I had a life changing conversation with two older couples.

I’ll spare all the details of that except to say this: in travel, you can find things you didn’t realize you’d lost, and you can have that ‘aha’ moment when a stranger merely says aloud, “You’re too young to hate your job.”  One statement from the mouth of a stranger changed a number of things in my life when I returned home.  I’m back in college and I finally feel like I’ve moved my life out of neutral.

Now on to what you’re really here for – the photos!  Be sure the check out my cell phone photo post for some other great shots!

Town of Inverie, Knoydart Peninsula, Scotland

View of the hills across Inverie Bay, Inverie, Knoydart Peninsula, Scotland

Hills across Inverie Bay, Inverie, Knoydart Peninsula, Scotland

View of the hills and munros from across Inverie Bay, Knoydart Peninsula, Scotland

Old stone wall covered in moss on the way to Knoydart Bunkhouse, Scotland

Bird on a fallen branch - Knoydart Peninsula, Scotland

Tree

Gorse growing in Inverie, Scotland

Gorse, while prickly, smells amazing!

Bluebells along a stone wall - Inverie, Knoydart Peninsula, Scotland

Ferry Berth sign in Inverie

Converted Church in Inverie, Scotland

Hills from the ferry - Western Highlands, Scotland

Looking back at Knoydart Peninsula from the Ferry - Scotland

Looking back at Ladhar Bheinn, Knoydart Peninsula, Inverie, Scotland

Looking back at Knoydart Peninsula from the ferry - Scotland

Leave a Reply

