When the Universe Trumps Your Wishes: Minnesota

I got trumped by the universe.  And that’s OK!

Baptism River, Tettegouche State Park, Minnesota, Fall, Sunlight, Outdoors, Hike, Explore, Solo Travel

I was supposed to be off the grid for 4 days hiking across Isle Royale, but no.  Nuh-uh.  Didn’t happen.  Why? you ask.  Because T Smithers in all her infinite wisdom did not double-check for a confirmation on booking the ferry.  That’s right.  My own fault.  Nothing like a bit of humility to wash down some personal responsibility.

However!  Instead of bemoaning the fact that I did not get my grandest of adventures out of my grand adventure across country, I found a light alternative: Tettegouche State Park in Minnesota.  (Figured I’d at least get up to Lake Superior and do some hiking and camping.)  I am also fairly certain I figured out the why for Universe throwing up the trump card: I was supposed to meet the girl from LilHouseOnTheCorner (Airbnb)!

I knew I’d be leaving the tiny town of Adrian, Minnesota (swung by to pay my respects to my great-great-grandparents and my great-grandparents in their final resting place) relatively late and Sioux Falls, South Dakota was only an hour away.  LHOTC-gal OK’d my stay and, BEHOLD!  A fellow hiker!  Not just a fellow hiker, but a baller-ass hiker who worked at Yellowstone, lived in Spain, etc., etc.  I’ve found a new outdoors soul sister!  My completely un-planned journey to Badlands National Park tomorrow has turned into a far more awesome “plan” (I use the term loosely) for Badlands, Yellowstone, and Grand Teton!

So, dear Universe, I thank you for denying me and putting me on this path.

With all that said, here are some pretty pictures from a short trip to visit a lighthouse, an afternoon hike along Superior Trail, and a morning hike/stroll along Lake Superior before the thunderstorms rolled in.

Day 1:

Superior Hiking Trail Sign - Tettegouche State Park, Minnesota

Looking out over Lake Superior - Overlook - Tettegouche State Park, Minnesota

Reflecting on my solo travel - Tettegouche State Park, Minnesota, Girl, Thought

Orange fungi, mushroom, fungus, minnesota, tettegouche state park

Boardwalk, Tettegouche State Park, Forest, Trees, Minnesota

 

Baptism River Suspension Bridge, Tettegouche State Park, Minnesota, Fall, Autumn

Suspension Bridge Over Tettegouche State Park's Baptism River, Minnesota

Baby Chipmunk Munching in the Forest - Tettegouche State Park - Animal - Rodent - Cuteness

Golden Mushroom, Mushroom, Fungi, Fungus, Minnesota Fungi, Fungi North, Northern Fungi, Forage, Hike, HIking

I found the golden mushroom! I wasn’t aware there was even a mushroom that actually LOOKS like it was painted a golden-brown color, but here it is.

Big ass leaf in Tettegouche State Park, Minnesota

image

Fall, Autumn, Autumn Leaves, Spotted Leaves, Tettegouche State Park, Minnesota

image

fungi, mushroom, fungus, minnesota, tettegouche state park, forage, tree fungus

bulbous fungi, mushroom, fungus, minnesota, tettegouche state park, nature

image

image

image

image

 

image

Day 1 – Lighthouse:

Window View - Lake Superior, Split Rock Lighthouse, Minnesota

image

Split Rock Lighthouse, Minnesota, Lake Superior

Split Rock Lighthouse, Minnesota, Lake Superior

Day 2:

Sunrise over Lake Superior, Minnesota, Tettegouche State Park

sunrise over lake superior, tettegouche state park, minnesota

image

image

Bird - Avian - Aviary - Lake Superior - Water Bird - Tettegouche State Park - Minnesota

Perhaps a Sanderling?

reflecting over lake superior, tettegouche state park, osprey packs

2 comments

Leave a Reply

