England: Reading Week Part I

Robin Hood and Little John walkin’ through the forest
Laughin’ back and forth at what the other’ne has to say
Reminiscin’, This-‘n’-thattin’ havin’ such a good time
Oo-de-lally, oo-de-lally, golly, what a day

img_20161019_161516

Instead of spending my Reading Week off from University reading (I did do some, I promise!), I spent it traveling about England with The Gent.

I am about to sound very American, so forgive me, but… I went to Nottingham… and freaking Sherwood Forest!!!!!

img_20161018_104410

img_20161018_103735

img_20161018_104205

Please keep in mind that there was no lack of the animated Robin Hood (1973) in our house, let alone Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves and Robin Hood: Men in Tights when I was deemed “old enough” to watch them, so this was basically living out the childhood fantasy to visit said woods.

The Gent is a wonderful human being in that he not only took me to the woods (and may, or may not have skipped through them with me singing “oo-de-lally” and “there was a rich man from Nottingham…”), but he also took me to the church where Robin Hood and Maid Marian are said to have married.  It’s like he likes me, or something *wink*.

img_20161018_104540

Oh, but before that, a lot of important things happened: 1) I met The Gent’s parents AND his awesome kids! 2) I met one of his brother’s, his brother’s wife and their son! 3) I met his best friend and best friend’s fiancee.  4) He still likes me after over a week together 😉

Seriously though, everyone was fantastic and very welcoming, so I’m feeling exceedingly lucky!

His parents were amazing and even took us to Chatsworth House (watch Pride & Prejudice: 2005 and you’ll recognize it!) out in the Peak District: holy gracious, it’s gorgeous – they paint the window frames gold! – and my pictures do it absolutely no justice what-so-ever.  There’s a lot more to see and do there, and I promise, I’ll post pictures next time we go!

img_20161023_115230

img_20161018_104720

img_20161018_104826

imag0386

Next Post: Stourhead Gardens!

 

3 comments

  1. Anabel Marsh

    I know all these places from living in South Yorkshire and Nottinghamshire in my 20s. Not been back in years (read: decades) so great to see such lovely pictures. Glad things are going well!

Leave a Reply

